7 Ways College Actually Leaves You Ill-Equipped to Deal with Life

I actually like college.  But that doesn’t change the truth that in some ways, you’re probably a little less prepared to deal with life.

Que dramatic chipmunk.

  1. You have to come to terms with the fact that even though you spent tens of thousands, or maybe even hundreds of thousands of dollars on knowledge, there are still important life things of which you know nothing. 

    Lol, taxes. Lol, healthcare. Lol, renter’s insurance. At least I can sing about the quadratic formula and know Caligula made his horse a Roman emperor.
    That will get me through life just fine.

  2. Your family and pre-college friends have no idea what you’re talking about. 

    At least one relative or pre-college friend will assume that you are purposely trying to make them feel stupid when talking about something, anything.  And the thing is, what you’re trying to talk about doesn’t have to be something you learned in college. The fact is, YOU have changed.  The way you approach problems, the world, and the way you reason things out is likely drastically different from pre-college you.  College changes you, and now you have less in common with less educated people.  AKA, the masses: the people you encounter in day-to-day life.  And it’s mostly okay, because there are lots of other things you can relate to people on that aren’t knowledge-based.  But, if you spent four or more years learning about American Literature, it might be nice to talk about it with someone once in a while.

  3. People make ridiculous assumptions about you. 

    Especially on social issues, politics, or economic things.  People tend to lump “college students” into a giant heap (like I’m doing right now, *cough cough*) and expect them all to behave in a certain way, and expect them to think certain things.  And the phrases I hear frequently are whiny, liberal, dependent on their parents, amassing debt, blah blah blah…Excuse you, I am only some of those things.

  4. You have high expectations, because you know how things could be. 

    You spend years learning about “best practices.” These “best practices” are presented as the way in which people normally conduct business.  “The manual.” Then, you graduate, enter the workforce, and find yourself wondering if your professors considered “the manual” proprietary knowledge, because no one else seems to know anything about it.
    And this doesn’t just apply to complicated things.  In fact, it’s almost worse when it’s very basic things.  You’ve probably taken a speech course and some written communication-type courses. You were probably told “this is how to do it,” yet your colleagues seem to have missed the memo (even some of the ones who went to college) because you’re still subjected to “Death by PowerPoint” and emails with no punctuation.And it’s a tiny bit frustrating.  You know how things could be, yet they are not so.  This also applies to social issues and political affairs.

  5. You might be a little less patient when discussing social issues with people.  Just a little.
    Because at some point, if you learned anything in the past years, it’s that if you have an opinion, you should be able to back it up with some kind of concrete information.  I don’t expect everyone to agree with me.  I usually assume the opposite.  But, when someone says something to the effect of “well, I don’t think we should worry about the environment” and  you ask, after a bewildered pause, “why?” and they respond with something to the effect of “idk, it was pretty cold yesterday”…

    I’m not saying folks who haven’t gone to college don’t care about the environment.  I’m simply saying that for me, I have a greater expectation of people being able to provide facts in arguments instead of just feelings, and I have less patience for people who can’t provide facts, yet claim that their argument is factual.#factsaregood #facts2016 #factsforpresident

  6. People relate to you weirdly.  Or is that you? 

    This is pretty similar to number 3, but there are some key differences.Mostly, the fact that some people (if you’re in Smalltown, USA, like I am) are afraid that you will actually judge them for not knowing something, or not being able to talk about a “complicated” topic.But, I’m actually not.  I might want to be able to talk about something, but if I can’t talk about it with you, I’m not holding that against you.  We’ve gone down different paths in life, and mine happened to include college.  It took some good fortune and support from other people for me to get there and I don’t take that for granted, and I understand not everyone has had those opportunities.Or maybe you don’t even care, and this is my perception?

    Since starting college, the vague feeling of being misplaced in the world (which I have always had) has become amplified.

  7. You feel like you should be doing more than you’re doing, no matter how much you’re doing. 

    Now that I know I can write a complete nineteen page research paper in 17 hours, non-stop, I will definitely feel like an underachiever doing anything less.  Now that I know I can calculate how to balance a stock portfolio to match my risk factor, I will feel like I’m not taking advantage of opportunities to invest.  Now that I know about the textile industry, I will forever have some guilt when purchasing clothing from a third-world “emerging market” country.And once I graduate, I will forever be an under-achiever.Which might just propel me into grad school.Thanks, College.

2 thoughts on “7 Ways College Actually Leaves You Ill-Equipped to Deal with Life

  1. A++ for Jenna Marbles, Sherlock, and Dilbert. And lol’d so hard at knowledge being in rainbow.

    But seriously there is so much truth to this. College changes you a lot as a person, and so it makes it harder to relate to others that didn’t go. Not even in an “lol I’m smarter than u” but just we’ve gone down different paths and so have different experiences.

    But seriously the judgements and the lack of providing a different argument make me mad. Like, excuse you. Feelings don’t make the argument, and this is coming from a highly empathetic individual.

    But also I’d like to point out the sexist part of it that for some reason once customers learn I’ve been in college (minus the shock of the baby face) or even outside of current workplace, they assume I took an art or literature major because I’m a small feminine person who just ‘looks like the type’ (and therefore college was silly for me to do because I’m assumed to have a ‘worthless’ degree). Then they are more shocked that its a hard science degree. It’s weird.

    Like

  2. Yep. People react weirdly when I tell them I’m in business. I think my appearance comes into play, as not only do I have the baby face plight, but I’m very petite and feminine-ish looking. People seem to feel like they have to say something about it or react somehow, but don’t know what to say. It’s so weird.

    Like

Leave a Reply

