Silly Randomness: Bad at the “Baby Thing”

It’s silly randomness/ honest confession time:

I am bad at the baby thing. Let’s break this down.

  1. Not all babies are cute
    Sorry? I understand it’s biology to think your own children are thee most adorable EVER, however, I may not think so. Of course, I would never tell someone that their baby looks like a senior citizen, or looks just alright. I think most babies are just alright in looks, not adorable.
  2. I do not know, nor do I really care
    I’m not sure how exactly to explain this. The thought of having children does not create in me the thrills that many people, especially many females around my age, seem to experience. I’m not sure why this is.  I’m not totally against the idea but neither am I excited by it.  I don’t have a Pinterest board full of nursery stuff. I don’t really seek out stuff about childbearing or rearing. I might click on something if it pops up somewhere, but I’m not looking for it.  While other females are hoarding the information like it’s going out of stock, my gut reaction is one of polite, intellectual disinterest.  A great example of this is when an acquaintance was discussing how, apparently, women are now not supposed to have children past (I think) like 34.  She knew this information because she had sought it out, because it was important to her. I had no idea until she divulged the information, unsolicited. I had never attempted to, or really even thought about, finding out the latest timeline from doctors. Moderately interesting, but…I would have likely never looked for that info. And most of the interest is from a scientific perspective of wondering what changes occur after that age.
  3. What about You?
    It’s totally fine to talk about someone’s child’s achievement, or breakthrough. I don’t mind seeing cute pictures or funny videos. Some of my friends have absolutely adorable children and I like and watch the stuff they post. However…when someone just wants to talk about children or their child, all day or all the time, I tend to lose interest. I get it, your child pooped where you wanted him to, and if I were you, I’d probably be ecstatic about it, too. But, and I know there are some parents who do agree with me, oversharing is a real thing. I also like hearing about and talking with you about more intellectual topics than poop.  I find it difficult to “gush” over these topics for an extended period of time or a frequent basis.
  4. “Aw”
    I feel like I react, and feel excited when someone tells me they are going to have a baby, until I see someone else react. Follow? I feel like my excitement is, in comparison, at a much lower level than others. I do genuinely feel happy for people who get pregnant, and are excited about it. That’s awesome. But I’ve never had the urge to jump up and down or cry about it.  It’s an odd feeling, because I am usually a very intense person, emotionally.
  5. I don’t think it’s anyone’s business to start asking me about possible future children.
    Like most things, if I didn’t bring it up it’s because for whatever reason, I don’t want to talk about it. Saying “I don’t really care” sounds awful, but it’s also annoying to have someone tell you, with deep conviction, that one day I will deeply want to have kids, when they brought the topic up to start with.  Maybe, but that day is not today, and regardless of what my feelings could be in the future, it does not make my current feelings or decisions less legitimate. I also don’t appreciate being treated like I am somehow not an adult because I do not have biological children.

I think I’ll end this here with a sort of disclaimer: I am in no way diminishing the awesomeness of children, or their parents. I’m simply making an observation about my own feelings on all of it, which seem to me to be drastically different from many people around me.  Hopefully this amused, even if slightly, the mysterious readers of this blog. 😉

Leave a Reply

